Updated September 15, 2020
New Tuesday September 15, 2020
Lost Wages Assistance (LWA), the extra $300/week in federal unemployment assistance, is coming September 17th. So far, we know:
- It is for any claimant who has a weekly benefit of at least $100 and who was unemployed or partially unemployed due to COVID-19 and file for unemployment for claims beginning July 26, 2020.
- It will also be available for claim weeks beginning August 2, 9, 16, 23, and 30, 2020.
- Claimant self-certification is now open.
- PUA claimants have already self-certified, so no action is required.
- Certification is required once, not weekly.
- Steps to certify:
- go to filectui.com
- click “Current Claims” (the Green button),
- log in
- click “Certify for Lost Wages Assistance”
For more information, go to: https://portal.ct.gov/DOLUI/FPUC
New Sunday September 6, 2020
- Can I offer couples massage?
1. The massage therapists/tables are 6 feet apart. AND
2. The room is operating at 50% capacity (determined by the fire codes).
If you cannot ensure the above conditions, you are not allowed to offer couples massage.
- Are there special guidelines I need to follow for in-home or chair massage?
You need to follow the same guidelines that are in the Reopen Connecticut guide. You can’t control the disinfection in the house into which you are going; however, you can control your process, ensuring linens are not cross-contaminated, cleaning and disinfection of equipment, etc. Also, the PPE guidelines for you and the client still need to be followed.
- Do I have to renew my license on schedule? What about my CE requirements?
Executive Order 7DD suspends for 6 months the continuing education requirement for massage therapists. Licensees with expiration dates between April 30, 2020 and October 31, 2020 are not required to complete the continuing education required for license renewal.
In addition, all license renewals, including massage therapy, are suspended until six months after the civil preparedness emergency is declared to be over. Licenses not renewed will not expire during this timeframe.
For the complete text of the Order by the Department of Public Health, click here: https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/Coronavirus/20200330-DPH-order-on-License-Renewals.pdf?la=en
- If I am an employee, but the business in which I work was essential (and did not close). Who completes the Self-Certification?
The employer must complete the Self-Certification, even if their business did not close. The massage reopening guidelines are new to everyone, including them, so they must certify that the business is adhering to the new guidelines.
- With so much guidance coming out, what do I have to follow by law in order to reopen?
The contents of the Reopen Connecticut guide. Nothing in the guide is optional.
This Doc/the FAQs: Many have asked questions about the meaning of certain statements, and Becca has asked the DECD to clarify. That is what is in included in this document: clarification from DECD and DPH. This is not AMTA’s opinion. We are just passing along information.
FSMTB Guidelines: This gives you another point of information and other suggestions, especially if you want to open more conservatively than the state is recommending.
- Can I provide feedback on the reopening process?
Yes! Go to:
You can also email the DPH at: firstname.lastname@example.org
- Will the Reopen Connecticut guidelines put forth be re-evaluated as we continue in the reopening process?
“Likely as we move into different phases.”
- As a business owner/self-employed, do I have to do anything special to reopen?
Yes, you have to self-certify, which is your verification that you are following all of the rules in the Reopen Connecticut Guide. You can Self-Certify here: https://business.ct.gov/recovery
- Is DECD going to provide update intake or waiver forms?
No. AMTA has worked with ClinicSense and MassageBook to create updated intake forms that include COVID questions. In addition, as an AMTA member, you receive discounts with these companies.
For a waiver, you probably need to work with an attorney. FYI, a waiver is not required by the state.
- Hows and Whens for handwashing, hand sanitizer, putting on and taking off masks and gloves. This is informational….not related to the Reopening Guide.
- Can I continue to file for PUA if I’m self-employed and in a high-risk group, or if I don’t feel safe returning to work, or if I don’t have all of my required PPE yet ?
What if I return to work but my income isn’t back to normal?
Yes. The federal government has funded the additional $600/week through the end of July 2020. You need only to receive $1.00 of unemployment to qualify for the additional benefit, and the PUA is approved through the end of December.
If you DO return to work, but are not earning your normal income (meaning fewer clients = less income), then you may still file for PUA and receive a partial payment. Two-thirds of your reported earnings will be deducted from your PUA benefit for weeks you report your part-time work and wages.
- If I’m in a high-risk category and I choose not to return to work, or I don’t feel safe yet. Can I still file for unemployment?
- What about the coagulopathy issues?
DPH recommends that you check with a medical professional.
- If a client’s spouse is over 65, can a massage therapist still enter the home and perform a massage?
According to DECD, yes. They are not regulating the entire household, only the client.
- Can a client 65 and older, or otherwise considered at risk, book a massage? What if they have a physician’s note?
NEW: YES. DECD says it’s recommended they stay home, but they can get a massage if they want. Up to you as a therapist if you want to work with them.
- The Guide refers to “practitioners” a lot. Does that apply to LMTs?
- Can I offer mobile/home-based massage?
It is legal in CT to do so; however, FSMTB has made it clear that it is not safe at the current time. It is ultimately your decision.
- What kind of air purifier should I purchase?
That is ultimately up to you. Look for a HEPA filter, consider your room size, and research particulate sizes.
- The 50% Capacity statement. What does that mean?
It’s related to fire code. So if your space can usually hold 10 people (including staff) at one time, now you can only have 5 people (including staff).
Massage Room Details
- Does each client have to have their own blanket?
FSMTB Guidelines (which are referenced in the CT Reopening Guide) state that linens are considered “massage sheets, face rest covers, pillow cases, bolster covers, hand towels, bath sheets or towels, bath or shower mats, hair wraps, bathrobes, blankets, and any other cloth material used to cover surfaces or cover the client during a massage session.”
“Soiled linens are defined as any cloth material used during a massage session that makes contact with the client’s skin or hair. Any linen that touches a client’s skin or hair must be properly laundered before use with another client.”
Therefore, it would be best practice to have a new, clean blanket with each client.
- Can I put a flat sheet on top of the blanket, creating a kind of duvet cover, that would be changed with each client?
According to DECD and DPH, NO. Sheets are porous fabrics with varying thicknesses. A flat sheet’s effectiveness as an appropriate cover over a blanket could not be guaranteed. Each client needs a new, clean blanket.
- Can I still use a table warmer/fleece?
Yes, IF you cover it with a waterproof barrier. You can use a heavy-duty plastic sheet or table protector. (You may not have your sheet directly on top of a fleece, egg crate, or table warmer.) The same applies to the face cradle.
Note from Becca: I’ve had my table warmer and fleece under my table protector for years, and my clients are still comfortable and warm.
- Is there any time limit on massage sessions?
- Can I remove the mask to massage around the sinuses and jaw?
No. The mask must stay in place the entire session, and the DPH does not want us massaging around the nose and mouth at this time. That may change in Phase 3.
- Regarding laundry, can I bring my linens home to wash them, or can I use a laundromat or laundry service?
Yes to all of the above. Basically, make sure you are washing linens according to CDC guidelines, and wear gloves, apron, mask, and goggles/faceshield.
- Can I bring my linens home to wash them?
Yes, see above.
- Can my clients bring their own sheets and blankets?
According to DECD and DPH, YES! However, the table, face cradle, and room still need to be cleaned and sanitized between clients.
- Do I have to wear gloves and or a gown/apron?
The state does not require either for massage; however, the state does require gloves and gowns/aprons for handling used linens and for cleaning/disinfecting.
In addition, FSMTB does recommend wearing gloves for massage, as well as a new, clean apron/gown for each client. The assumption is most gowns do not have a waterproof barrier, so one that is disposable or can be laundered is preferred.
- Why do I have to wear protective glasses or a face shield?
The conjunctiva of the eye is a proven transmission point. While masks are great, some air does escape them, and since we are in such close proximity, we are more at risk of infection via conjunctiva.
- If my gown/apron has a waterproof barrier, can I clean and disinfect it between clients instead of using a new one with each client?
According to DECD and DPH, Yes.
- I’m having trouble getting my PPE and disinfectants so I can’t open yet, but I want to. What do I do?
The state has a list of verified suppliers. Check them out here: https://portal.ct.gov/DECD/Content/Coronavirus-Business-Recovery/Small-Business-Reopening-Resource-Guide/Suppliers
- Can I move the client’s mask around so that I can access areas of their face that are closer to the nose and mouth, without actually exposing the nose and mouth? I would want to do this so I can massage more of their face, their sinuses, and even perform facial or skin treatments.
No. DECD says Personal services providers (massage therapists, estheticians, or anyone else for that matter) should not be touching or manipulating a client’s mask for any reason, nor should anyone ask the client to. It is a potential liability issue. The mask wearer is discouraged from touching their own mask too often due to cross-contamination issues.
Bottom line, leave the mask and anything under it alone for now.
- If my client does not want to wear a mask while face down, can I create a pillowcase “hammock”?
Yes, with the following:
- It must be something similar to this video:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s0rPVhKhyZs
- Client must wear mask until they are face down and then remove their mask.
- Client must hold the mask or wear on their head
- Client must immediately replace the mask over their nose and face when they lift their head out of the face cradle, for any reason.
- Must be changed after each client
DPH says, “It would probably be effective, but not sure how practical it is for massage therapists to do it.”